Jardim Botânico Shopping

ProfilepicBy Kate Romero

Hi kids!  This week I will be talking about the area in Lago Sul known as Jardim Botânico. I’m not talking about the Botanical Garden, although it is lovely, but the Jardim Botânico commercial district.  I’m guessing it’s called that because of its location next to the Jardim Botânico. I’m pretty good at deductive reasoning. The area is just up around the corner from my house, and if there’s one thing I like, it’s not straying too far from home, because agoraphobia.  Head up QI 23 in Lago Sul and the Jardim Botânico district is right at the top (take a right at the third roundabout).   You are likely to find anything you might need here, from blood tests (Sabin Labs) to plants.  More importantly, you will find a lot of things you don’t need, but will die if you don’t get them.  This happened to me, but more on that in a bit.  There is a shopping mall right in the middle of all the little shops, which I have yet to explore, because my limit of outside exposure always runs out by the time I’m done looking at plants and furniture.

The first group of shops mostly sells plants.  I filled up my shady patio with plants recommended by the knowledgeable staff at several of these places.  And as you can imagine, trying to convey my needs in portuguese was an adventure that went something like, “Need plants.  Need [pantomime of planter/pot]. Big.  No many sun.”  Anyway, two years later and my plants are going gangbusters, even if my portuguese isn’t.

A little furthur down on the same side of the street is a Saturday market, Feira do Produtor do Jardim Botânico.  The market is filled with fresh, inexpensive produce and other items.  Keep in mind that this isn’t the wonder that is CEASA, but if you live in Lago Sul, it’s a great little place to stock up on produce for the week. I actually like it better, because CEASA can be a bit overwhelming when you are special like me.  Aside: right now I typing with mustard seeds taped to my ear.  Google it, it’s totally a thing!

IMG_4431 (Large)

IMG_4433 (Large) IMG_4437 (Large)

IMG_4439 (Large)

I wanted to buy this and make the world’s biggest fried egg, but it was R$40. Or maybe it was R$20, I don’t remember, but still, too much for me to pay for an ostrich egg that I’m 85% sure I probably couldn’t even crack open, and the embassy doesn’t give me an expense account, even though I DESERVE one.

IMG_4441 (Large)

The chickens aren’t usually ready until 10:30 or 11:00, but most of the produce is picked over by then, so it’s kind of a choice you have to make for yourself. Parking is also rather tight as it gets later in the morning.

IMG_4444 (Large)

Pita bread thingies!

IMG_4443 (Large)

Coconut oil, syrups, honey, and all kinds of cooking oils are available in the shops along the back.

IMG_4442 (Large)

Spices. I bet they have mustard seeds, too. Get some you guys! And tape them to your ear so you look cool like me.

IMG_4445 (Large)

I got all this for about R$20. Not too shabby!

IMG_4453 (Large)

Not sure what this store is, because of my portuguese problem, but if I were to hazard a guess, I would say it’s a Materials of Construction store. Also, there was wood and tools and shovels in the window. Don’t be jealous of my powers of deductive reasoning.

IMG_4452 (Large)

A garden supply store, where you can get hoses and stuff for your pool.

IMG_4451 (Large)

For example: chlorine tablets. I bought some for our pool, and now my daughter’s hair is green, but chlorine does that to blonde hair.  She thinks it’s pretty cool.

IMG_4447 (Large)

Outside of the market, you can buy pizzas out of a car trunk, and I hear they are quite good. And who doesn’t like buying food out of a stranger’s trunk?

IMG_4448 (Large)

Do I really need to tell you that these are coconuts? 4 for R$10.

IMG_4449 (Large)

Moqueca pots and caipirinha lime smasher thingies. Look, I don’t have time to get all the names right of every little thing when I don’t even have an expense account. Sheesh.

IMG_5292

Across the street are the furniture shops. Look at those ginormous lady statues on the left! I want one so bad. If only to see the look on my husband’s face when he gets home and sees what I bought.

IMG_5291

There they are again! It would also be priceless to explain to the moving company that these beautiful ladies are going into our HHE shipment.

Okay, so remember three minutes ago when I mentioned buying things you didn’t need but would die if you didn’t get them anyway?  That happened to me inside one of these furniture stores.  Now, my living room is very big, and here is a picture of my coffee table.  Well, a picture of all of our coffee tables, really:

image

Blah. I mean, it’s not offensive or anything, but sometimes when you are surrounded by government furniture, it helps to throw in one piece that you really love. That’s what happened when I went into one of those furniture stores. I fell in love.

The price was beyond what I was willing to pay, so I offered the lady half the amount she quoted, in cash.  And she said yes! She even had it delivered 20 minutes later (after a quick run to the cash machine and a tearful call to my husband explaining how I couldn’t afford NOT to buy the thing at that price). And here it is:

image

How about a closer look?

image

I know! It’s massive! I love it! If I hadn’t bought it I wouldn’t be writing about it right now because number one, I wouldn’t have bought it, and two, I would be dead.

Now, before you get your panties in a bunch about my couches not looking like government-issue couches, here is what they look like under my $50 IKEA slipcovers:

imageNot only that, all of the couches have a different pattern.  But look at my coffee table again!

image

So, that’s my take on all the goodness that can be found in the Jardim Botânico shopping district. Let me know if you buy something super weird or awesome there!

2 responses to “Jardim Botânico Shopping

  1. I want to sleep on your coffee table.

  2. Go hawks!!!

Leave a Reply

